SMU Huskies

Breanna Lanceleve and Marquis Clayton, named Top Saint Mary’s Athletes

Breanna Lanceleve and Marquis Clayton, named Top Saint Mary’s Athletes

Saint Mary's Department of Athletics & Recration celebrated their 2016/17 Athletic acheivements on Monday, March 27th in an awards ceremony held on campus.  300 student-athletes and guests attended the event emceed by student-athletes Spencer Wiechert (Football) and Beatrice Harrietha (Hockey).  Winners were:

Female Athlete of the Year

Breanna Lanceleve – Hockey, 4th year forward from Lower Sackville, NS

In Lanceleve's 4th year with the program, she served as team captain for the third year, and was the cornerstone of her program's rise to two AUS championships and national contention. She led the team in goals and the conference in assists with 24.  She was named AUS 1st team All-Star and U-Sports 2nd team All-Canadian and was the most dominant player in the conference, recording 29 points in the second half of the season.


Male Athlete of the Year

Marquis Clayton – Basketball, 5th year guard from Halifax, NS

A hometown fifth year senior, Marquis finished 6th in conference scoring and 2nd in team points.  He was named a 1st team AUS All-star and was named to the AUS Championship All-star team and Player of the Game in the tournament final.  


Female Rookie of the Year

Jasmine Cain, Basketball, 1st year Halifax, NS

Jasmine finished a solid season for a first year player.  She averaged 20 minutes per game and finished first in team rookie scoring and was named to the AUS All-Rookie team for her season play.


Male Rookie of the Year

Hunter Garlent, Hockey, 1st year, Thorhold, ON

Hunter Garlent had an outstanding year as a freshman in the AUS.  He finished 2nd in conference scoring and third in national scoring with 45 points, he led the conference in playoff points and was named the AUS Rookie of the Year.  He was named a member of the U SPORTS all-rookie team and a 2nd team All-Canadian.


President's – Female

Maddie Clarke, Volleyball, 3rd year Science, Ottawa, ON


President's Male

Michael Curtis, Hockey, 3rd year Commerce, Georgetown, ON


Unsung Hero – John Jones Award

Kemar Alleyne, Basketball, 3rd year, Scarborough, ON


Team MVP's

Football – Deandre Smith

Men's Soccer – Christian Oxner

Women's Soccer – Fiorella Morales

Rugby – Kate Murray

Cross Country – Samantha Fader

Cross Country – Jonathan Peverill

Track & Field – Ashley Murray

Track & Field – Dominic Collie

Women's Basketball – Angelina Carvery

Men's Hockey – Hunter Garlent

Women's Hockey – Breanna Lanceleve

Men's Basketball – Marquis Clayton

Volleyball – Erin Smith